Peter Dickinson

Peter Malcolm de Brissac Dickinson was born in Livingstone, Northern Rhodesia. In 1935, he moved with his family to England. He was educated at Eton College and Cambridge University where he obtained a BA in 1951. He worked for seventeen years on the editorial staff of Punch Magazine. He now lives in Hampshire with his second wife. Dickinson is the creator of 'James Pibble', a Detective Superintendent of Scotland Yard. He also writes children's books. Visit also this site.


Titles and year of publication:
 'James Pibble' Novels
 1) Skin Deep (US Title: The Glass-Sided Ants' Nest) (Gold Dagger Award)  1968
 2) A Pride of Heroes (US Title: The Old English Peep Show) (Gold Dagger Award)  1969
 3) The Seals (US Title: The Sinful Stones)  1970
 4) Sleep and His Brother  1971
 5) The Lizard in the Cup  1972
 6) One Foot in the Grave  1979
 Other Novels
 1) The Green Gene  1973
 2) The Poison Oracle  1974
 3) The Lively Dead  1975
 4) King and Joker  1976
 5) Walking Dead  1977
 6) The Last House Party  1982
 7) Hindsight  1983
 8) Death of a Unicorn  1984
 9) Tefuga  1986
10) Perfect Gallows  1988
11) Skeleton-in-Waiting  1989
12) Play Dead  1992
13) The Yellow Room Mystery  1994
14) Some Deaths Before Dying  1999