Patricia Highsmith

Mary Patricia Hangman was born in Forth Worth, Texas. Later she took the name of her stepfather. When she was six, she moved with her mother and stepfather to New York. At the age of fifteen she started writing. She studied English, Latin and Greek at Barnard College, Columbia and obtained her BA in 1942. At twenty-three, she decided to become a writer but it took her six years to get her first novel published. The novel was bought by Alfred Hitchcock who made it into a film. In 1955 her first 'Ripley' novel was published. Ripley became her best-known and most enduring character, featuring in five further novels. He was not a detective but a murderer! Her novels are psychological thrillers.
In 1962, Highsmith moved permanently to Europe. First staying in Italy, then in England before settling in France. During the last years of her life, which she spent in Switzerland, she wrote very little.


Titles and year of publication:
 1) Strangers on a Train  1950
 2) The Price of Salt (UK Title: Carol)  1952
 3) The Blunderer  1954
 4) The Talented Mr Ripley  1955
 5) Deep Water  1957
 6) A Game for the Living  1958
 7) This Sweet Sickness  1960
 8) The Cry of the Owl  1962
 9) The Two Faces of January  1964
10) The Glass Cell  1964
11) The Story-Teller ( UK Title: A Suspension of Mercy)  1965
12) Those Who Walk Away  1967
13) The Tremor of Forgery  1969
14) Ripley Under Ground  1970
15) The Snail Watchers (short stories) (UK Title: Eleven)  1970
16) A Dog's Ransom  1972
17) Ripley's Game  1974
18) The Animal-Lover's Book of Beastly Murder (short stories)  1975
19) Little Tales of Misogyny (short stories)  1977
20) Edith's Diary  1977
21) Slowly, Slowly in the Wind (short stories)  1979
22) The Boy Who Followed Ripley  1980
23) The Black House  1981
24) The People Who Knock on the Door  1983
25) Mermaids on the Golf Course and Other Stories (short stories)  1985
26) Found in the Street  1986
27) Tales of Natural and Unnatural Catastrophes (short stories)  1987
28) Ripley Under Water  1991
29) Small G: A Summer Idyll  1995