Ross Macdonald

Pseudonym of Kenneth Millar. He was born in Los Gatos, California and raised in Canada. In 1938, he graduated from the University of West Ontario. In the same year, he married Margaret Ellis Sturm who also wrote detective novels under the name Margaret Millar. He worked at the University of Toronto and taught English and History at a prep school and then at the University of Michigan. From 1944 till 1946, he served as an officer in the U.S. Naval Reserve. In this period, a few of his non-genre novels were published under his own name. After the war, he returned to Michigan and obtained a Ph.D. in English Literature in 1951. In 1949, his first 'Lew Archer' novel was published under the pseudonym of John Macdonald. Later this name was changed, first to John Ross Macdonald and then to Ross Macdonald to avoid confusion with John D. MacDonald. In 1974, he was awarded the Grand Master Award for lifetime achievement from the Mystery Writers of America.


Titles and year of publication:
 1) The Dark Tunnel (Also published as: I Die Slowly)  1944
 2) Trouble Follows Me (Also published as: Night Train)  1946
 3) Blue City  1947
 4) The Three Roads  1948
 5) The Moving Target (Also published as: Harper)  1949
 6) The Drowning Pool  1951
 7) The Way Some People Die  1951
 8) The Ivory Grin (Also published as: Marked for Murder)  1952
 9) Meet Me at the Morgue (UK Title: Experience with Evil)  1953
10) Find a Victim  1955
11) The Name Is Archer (short stories)  1955
12) The Barbarous Coast  1956
13) The Doomsters  1958
14) The Galton Case  1959
15) The Ferguson Affair  1960
16) The Wycherly Woman  1961
17) The Zebra-Striped Hearse  1962
18) The Chill  1964
19) The Far Side of the Dollar (Gold Dagger Award)  1965
20) Black Money  1966
21) Archer in Hollywood  1967
22) The Instant Enemy  1968
23) The Goodbye Look  1969
24) Archer at Large  1970
25) The Underground Man  1971
26) Sleeping Beauty  1973
27) The Blue Hammer  1976
28) Lew Archer, Private Investigator (short stories)  1977
29) Archer in Jeopardy  1979