Ernest Bramah

Ernest Bramah Smith was born in Hulme, Manchester. As a young man he tried farming but that was not successful, so he tried journalism before becoming private secretary to Jerome K. Jerome. His first book was rejected by many major publishers before it was accepted by a new young publisher, Grant Richards. Besides his crime books he also wrote other fiction and non-fiction novels. He is the creator of:
1. 'Max Carrados', a blind amateur detective.
2. 'Kai Lung', a Chinese story-teller.

Titles and year of publication:
 'Max Carrados' Novels
 1) Max Carrados (short stories)  1914
 2) The Eyes of Max Carrados (short stories)  1923
 3) Max Carrados Mysteries (short stories)  1927
 4) The Bravo of London  1934
 'Kai Lung' Novels
 1) The Wallet of Kai Lung (short stories)  1900
 2) Kai Lung's Golden Hours (short stories)  1922
 3) Kai Lung Unrolls His Mat (short stories)  1928
 4) The Moon of Much Gladness (short stories)  1932
 5) Kai Lung Beneath the Mulberry-Tree (short stories)  1940
 6) Kai Lung: Six (short stories)  1974
 Other Novels
 1) The Specimen Case (short stories)  1924