Stanley Ellin

Stanley Bernard Ellin was born in Brooklyn, New York. He was educated at Brooklyn College. In 1937, he married Jeanne Michael. He worked as a teacher, steelworker and a dairy farmer. From 1944 to 1945, he served in the United States Army. Ellin was a member of the Mystery Writers of America.


Titles and year of publication:
 1) Dreadful Summit (Also published as: The Big Night)  1948
 2) The Key to Nicholas Street  1952
 3) Mystery Stories (Also published as: Quiet Horror) (short stories)  1956
 4) The Eighth Circle (Edgar Award)  1958
 5) The Winter After This Summer  1960
 6) The Panama Portrait  1962
 7) The Blessington Method, and other strange tales (short stories)  1964
 8) House of Cards  1967
 9) The Valentine Estate  1968
10) The Bind (UK Title: The Man from Nowhere)  1970
11) Mirror, Mirror on the Wall (Le Grand Prix de Littérature Policière)  1972
12) Kindly Dig Your Grave, and other wicked stories (short stories)  1975
13) Stronghold  1975
14) The Luxembourg Run  1977
15) The Specialty of the House and other stories (short stories)  1979
16) Star Light, Star Bright  1979
17) The Dark Fantastic  1983
18) Very Old Money  1985