R. Austin Freeman

Richard Austin Freeman was born in London. He begun medical training at Middlesex Hospital at the age of eighteen. He joined a medical expedition to Ashanti and Bontuku in 1889, in which he served as physician, navigator and naturalist. Nine years later he published his expedition experiences in Travels and Life in Ashanti and Jaman (1898). Freeman created for his mystery novels Dr. John Evelyn Thorndyke, a character whose work epitomized the use of scientific methods to solve crimes. He also wrote together with John James Pitcairn under the pseudonym 'Clifford Ashdown'.


Titles and year of publication:
'Thorndyke' Novels
 1) The Red Thumb Mark  1907
 2) John Thorndyke's Cases (US Title: Dr. Thorndyke's Cases) (short stories)  1909
 3) The Eye of Osiris (US Title: The Vanishing Man)  1911
 4) The Mystery of 31, New Inn  1912
 5) The Singing Bone (Also published as: The Adventures of Dr. Thorndyke) (short stories)  1912
 6) A Silent Witness  1914
 7) Helen Vardon's Confession  1922
 8) The Cat's Eye  1923
 9) Dr. Thorndyke's Case-Book (short stories)  1923
10) The Mystery of Angelina Frood  1924
11) The Puzzle Lock (short stories)  1925
12) The Shadow of the Wolf  1925
13) The D'Arblay Mystery  1926
14) A Certain Dr. Thorndyke  1927
15) The Magic Casket (short stories)  1927
16) As a Thief in the Night  1928
17) The Famous Cases of Dr. Thorndyke (US Title: The Dr. Thorndyke Omnibus) (short stories)  1929
18) Dr. Thorndyke Investigates (short stories)  1930
19) Mr. Pottermack's Oversight  1930
20) Pontifex, Son & Thorndyke  1931
21) When Rogues Fall Out (US Title: Dr. Thorndyke's Discovery)  1932
22) Dr. Thorndyke Intervenes  1933
23) For the Defence: Dr. Thorndyke  1934
24) The Penrose Mystery  1936
25) Felo de Se? (US Title: Death at the Inn)  1937
26) The Stoneware Monkey  1938
27) Mr. Polton Explains  1940
28) The Jacob Street Mystery (US Title: The Unconscious Witness)  1942
29) The Best Dr. Thorndyke Detective Stories (short stories)  1973
Other Novels
 1) The Exploits of Danby Croker (shorts stories)  1916
 2) The Great Portrait Mystery (short stories)  1918
 3) A Savant's Vendetta (US Title: The Uttermost Farthing)  1920
 4) The Surprising Adventures of Mr. Shuttlebury (short stories)  1927
 5) Flighty Phyllis (short stories)  1928