George Johnston
Pseudonym: Shane Martin

George Henry Johnston was born in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. He was an author, journalist, and war correspondent. In 1954, he abandoned his journalism career and moved to the Greek island of Hydra where he began writing full-time. He is the creator of 'Ronald Challis', a professor of archaeology and amateur sleuth (under the pseudonym 'Shane Martin').


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Ronald Challis' Novels (as 'Shane Martin')
 1) The Saracen Shadow  1957
 2) Twelve Girls in the Garden  1957
 3) The Man Made of Tin  1958
 4) The Myth Is Murder (US Title: The Third Statue [1959])  1959
 5) A Wake for Mourning (US Title: Mourner’s Voyage [1963])  1962
 Other Novels
 1) Death Takes Small Bites  1948
 2) The Darkness Outside  1959