Page 1 of 2
Stuart Palmer

Charles Stuart Palmer also wrote under the pseudonym 'Jay Stewart'. He is the creator of 'Hildegarde Withers', spinster sleuth in New York.


Titles and year of publication:
'Hildegarde Withers' Novels
 1) The Penguin Pool Murder  1931
 2) Murder on the Blackboard  1932
 3) Murder on Wheels  1932
 4) The Puzzle of the Pepper Tree  1933
 5) The Puzzle of the Silver Persian  1934
 6) The Puzzle of the Red Stallion (UK Title: The Puzzle of the Briar Pipe)  1936
 7) The Puzzle of the Blue Banderilla  1937
 8) The Puzzle of the Happy Hooligan  1941
 9) Miss Withers Regrets  1947
10) The Riddles of Hildegarde Withers (short stories)  1947
11) Four Lost Ladies  1949
12) The Green Ace (UK Title: At One Fell Swoop)  1950
13) The Monkey Murder, and other Hildegarde Wither stories (short stories)  1950
14) Nipped in the Bud (Also published as: Trap for a Redhead)  1951
15) Cold Poison (UK Title: Exit Laughing)  1954
16) People vs. Withers and Malone (with Craig Rice) (short stories)  1963
17) Hildegarde Withers Makes the Scene (with Fletcher Flora)  1969
Other Novels
 1) Ace of Jades  1931
 2) Omit Flowers (UK Title: No Flowers by Request)  1937
 3) Unhappy Hooligan (UK Title: Death in Grease Paint)  1956
 4) Rook Takes Knight  1968
 5) The Adventure of the Marked Man, and one other (short stories)  1973
As 'Jay Stewart'
 1) Before It's Too Late  1950

Contents of the Short Story Collections