Nicholas Blake

Pseudonym of the poet laureate Cecil Day-Lewis. He studied at Oxford University. After his study he became a teacher. In 1935, when he was employed at Cheltenham College in Gloucestershire, he published his first crime novel, which brought him into trouble with the school authorities. He left of his own accord, to earn his living by his writing. In 1969 he abandoned crime writing and took up his poetic laurels. He is the creator of 'Nigel Strangeways', an amateur sleuth.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Nigel Strangeways' Novels
 1) A Question of Proof  1935
 2) Thou Shell of Death (US Title: Shell of Death [1936])  1936
 3) There's Trouble Brewing  1937
 4) The Beast Must Die  1938
 5) The Smiler with the Knife  1939
 6) Malice in Wonderland (US Title: The Summer Camp Mystery) (Also published as: Malice with Murder [1964])  1940
 7) The Case of the Abominable Snowman (US Title: The Corpse in the Snowman [1941])  1941
 8) Minute for Murder  1947
 9) Head of a Traveller  1949
10) The Dreadful Hollow  1953
11) The Whisper in the Gloom (Also published as: Catch and Kill [1955])  1954
12) End of Chapter  1957
13) The Widow's Cruise  1959
14) The Worm of Death  1961
15) The Sad Variety  1964
16) The Morning after Death  1966
 Other Novels
 1) A Tangled Web (Also published as: Death and Daisy Bland [1960])  1956
 2) A Penknife in My Heart  1958
 3) The Deadly Joker  1963
 4) The Private Wound (Silver Dagger Award)  1968