John Buchan

John Buchan was born in Perth. He attended Glasgow University for a short while and then moved to Oxford University. While he was still at Glasgow, he was already planning seriously to become a writer. His first novel, Sir Quixote of the Moors (1895), was a romance. After Oxford, he became a journalist for a short while before accepting a post as administrator in the Boer republics of Transvaal and the Orange River. In the First World War, he was at the front in Flanders as the Times' special correspondent and later as a Lieutenant in the Intelligence Corps. After the war, he settled at his country home, Elsfield Manor, Oxford, with his wife and four children. In the Thirties, he moved to Canada.
Although he is best known for his adventure stories, he also wrote historical romances, biographies, poetry and serious historical works.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) Sir Quixote of the Moors  1895
 2) John Burnet of Barns  1898
 3) Grey Weather : Moorland Tales (short stories)  1899
 4) A Lost Lady of Old Years  1899
 5) The Half-Hearted  1900
 6) The Watcher by the Threshold and Other Tales (short stories)  1902
 7) A Lodge in the Wilderness  1906
 8) Prester John  1910
 9) The Moon Endureth: Tales and Fancies (short stories)  1912
10) The Thirty-Nine Steps  1915
11) Salute to Adventurers  1915
12) The Power House  1916
13) Greenmantle  1916
14) Mr Standfast  1918
15) The Path of the King  1921
16) Huntingtower  1922
17) Midwinter  1923
18) The Three Hostages  1924
19) John MacNab  1925
20) The Dancing Floor  1926
21) Witch Wood  1927
22) The Runagates Club (short stories)  1928
23) The Courts of the Morning  1929
24) Castle Gay  1930
25) The Blanket of the Dark  1931
26) The Gap in the Curtain  1932
27) A Prince of the Captivity  1933
28) The Free Fishers  1934
29) The House of the Four Winds  1935
30) The Island of Sheep  1936
31) Sick Heart River  1941