Lionel Davidson

Lionel Davidson was born in Hull, Yorkshire. He left school early to become an office boy at The Spectator in London. Later he joined the Keystone Press Agency. In the Second World War he served with the Royal Naval Submarine Service. In 1946, he returned to the Keystone Press Agency. He travelled all over Europe as a reporter. On one of these trips he got the idea for his first thriller. His first book was a tremendous success and he gave up his job to become a full-time writer.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) The Night of Wenceslas (Gold Dagger Award)  1960
 2) The Rose of Tibet  1962
 3) A Long Way to Shiloh (US Title: The Menorah Men [1966]) (Gold Dagger Award)  1966
 4) Making Good Again  1968
 5) Smith's Gazelle  1971
 6) The Sun Chemist  1976
 7) The Chelsea Murders (US Title: Murder Games [1978]) (Gold Dagger Award)  1978
 8) Kolymsky Heights  1994