Colin Dexter

Colin Dexter was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire. In 1950 he went to study at Christ's College, Cambridge. Before that he undertook his National Service with the Royal Corps of Signals. He received a classics degree in 1953, and an MA five years later. In 1954 he became assistant classics master at Wyggeston School, Leicester. An appointment at Loughborough Grammar followed, before he occupied the position of senior classics master at Corby Grammar, Northamptonshire, in 1959.
In 1966 started his association with Oxford, when he retired from teaching to take up a job at the Oxford Local Examinations Board. He is the creator of 'Inspector Morse'.



John Thaw and Kevin Whateley as Chief Inspector Morse and Sergeant Lewis

Titles and year of publication:  

 1) Last Bus to Woodstock  1975
 2) Last Seen Wearing  1976
 3) The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn  1977
 4) Service of All the Dead (Silver Dagger Award)  1979
 5) The Dead of Jericho (Silver Dagger Award)  1981
 6) The Riddle of the Third Mile  1983
 7) The Secret of Annexe 3  1986
 8) The Wench is Dead (Gold Dagger Award)  1989
 9) The Jewel That Was Ours  1991
10) The Way through the Woods (Gold Dagger Award)  1992
11) Morse's Greatest Mystery (short stories)  1993
12) The Daughters of Cain  1994
13) Death is Now My Neighbour  1996
14) The Remorseful Day  1999

More book covers