Page 1 of 2
Arthur Conan Doyle

Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born in Edinburgh. From 1876 to 1880 he studied medicine at the University of Edinburgh. After graduation in 1880 he became a ship's doctor for a short time followed by an attempt to build up a medical practice in Southsea. In 1885 he married Louise Hawkins. To supplement his meagre income, he contributed stories to several periodicals. While waiting long hours for patients to arrive at his surgery, the birth of the world's most famous detective took place. Sherlock Holmes was inspired by Dr. Joseph Bell, surgeon and tutor of medicine during Doyle's student days at Edinburgh.

Jeremy Brett (right) as Sherlock Holmes and Edward Hardwicke as Dr. Watson
in The Hound of the Baskervilles

Titles and year of publication:  

'Sherlock Holmes' Novels
 1) A Study in Scarlet  1887
 2) The Sign of the Four  1890
 3) The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (short stories)  1892
 4) The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (short stories)  1894
 5) The Hound of the Baskervilles  1902
 6) The Return of Sherlock Holmes (short stories)  1905
 7) The Valley of Fear  1915
 8) His Last Bow (short stories)  1917
 9) The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes (short stories)  1927
Other Novels
 1) The Surgeon of Gaster Fell  1885
 2) The Mystery of Cloomber  1889
 3) Mysteries and Adventures (US Title: My Friend the Murderer and other mysteries and adventures [1893])
     (Also published as: The Gully of Bluemansdyke [1892]) (short stories)
 4) The Firm of Girdlestone  1890
 5) The Captain of the Polestar (short stories)  1890
 6) The Doings of Raffles Haw  1892
 7) The Parasite  1894
 8) Round the Red Lamp (short stories)  1894
 9) The Exploits of Brigadier Gerard (short stories)  1896
10) The Green Flag (short stories)  1900
11) Adventures of Gerard (short stories)  1903
12) Round the Fire Stories (Also published as: Tales for a Winter's Night [1989]) (short stories)  1908
13) The Last Galley  1911
14) The Lost World  1912
15) The Poison Belt  1913
16) Danger! (short stories)  1918
17) Tales of Terror and Mystery (short stories)  1922
18) The Black Doctor and other tales of terror and mystery (short stories)  1925
19) The Land of Mist  1926
20) The Maracot Deep (includes 3 short stories)  1929
21) The Unknown Conan Doyle (US Title: Uncollected Stories [1984]) (short stories)  1982
22) The Best Horror Stories of Arthur Conan Doyle (short stories)  1989

Contents of the Short Story Collections