Tony Hillerman

Anthony Grove Hillerman was born in Sacred Heart, Oklahoma. He attended St. Mary's Academy and Konawa High School where he graduated in 1942. After a brief sojourn to college, he returned to farming. In 1943, he enlisted in the U.S. Army. He was awarded the Silver Star, the Bronze Star with Oak Leaf Cluster and the Purple Heart. He was discharged in 1945. After the war, he studied at the University of Oklahoma, obtaining a BA in 1948. In that same year, he married Marie Unzner. The couple has six children. From 1948 to 1962, he worked in a variety of journalist positions. In 1963, he returned to graduate school in English at the University of New Mexico where he obtained his MA in 1966. Until 1987, he taught at the journalism faculty of UNM. He is the creator of 'Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee', a former police lieutenant and a sergeant of the Navajo tribal police. His daughter, Anne Hillerman, continues the series. Visit also this site.


Titles and year of publication:  

'Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee' Novels
 1) The Blessing Way  1970
 2) Dance Hall of the Dead (Edgar Award)  1973
 3) Listening Woman  1978
 4) People of Darkness  1980
 5) The Dark Wind  1982
 6) The Ghostway  1984
 7) Skinwalkers (Anthony Award)  1986
 8) A Thief of Time (Macavity Award)  1988
 9) Talking God  1989
10) Coyote Waits (Nero Wolfe Award)  1990
11) Sacred Clowns  1993
12) The Fallen Man  1997
13) The First Eagle  1998
14) Hunting Badger  1999
15) The Wailing Wind  2002
16) The Sinister Pig  2003
17) Skeleton Man  2004
18) The Shape Shifter  2006
Other Novels
 1) The Fly on the Wall  1971
 2) Finding Moon  1995