P.D. James

Phyllis Dorothy James was born in Oxford. She left school at the age of sixteen because no-one at home thought it worth educating girls. During the war she married a doctor, who came home in 1948 severely schizophrenic. She had to care for two small daughters and a husband, who was in and out of hospital. She became a medical record keeper and hospital administrator in the NHS. In 1968 she entered the Home Office and worked there in the police department for the forensic science service. In 1972 she moved to the criminal policy department. She is the creator of 'Adam Dalgliesh', a Scotland Yard detective, and of 'Cordelia Gray', a private investigator.


Titles and year of publication:  

'Adam Dalgliesh' Novels
 1) Cover Her Face  1962
 2) A Mind to Murder  1963
 3) Unnatural Causes  1967
 4) Shroud for a Nightingale (Silver Dagger Award)  1971
 5) The Black Tower (Silver Dagger Award)  1975
 6) Death of an Expert Witness  1977
 7) A Taste for Death (Silver Dagger Award, Macavity Award)  1986
 8) Devices and Desires  1989
 9) Original Sin  1994
10) A Certain Justice  1997
11) Death in Holy Orders  2001
12) The Murder Room  2003
13) The Lighthouse  2005
14) The Private Patient  2008
'Cordelia Gray' Novels
 1) An Unsuitable Job for a Woman  1972
 2) The Skull beneath the Skin  1982
Other Novels
 1) Innocent Blood  1980
 2) The Children of Men  1992
 3) The Maul and the Pear Tree: The Ratcliffe Highway Murders 1811 (with T. A. Critchley)  2010
 4) Death Comes to Pemberley  2011
 5) The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories (short stories)  2016
 6) Sleep No More (short stories)  2017

More book covers