Jonathan Latimer
Pseudonym: Peter Coffin

Jonathan Wyatt Latimer was born in Chicago. He was educated at Arizona's Mesa School and at Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois. He worked for the Herald-Examiner from 1930 to 1933. During the Second World War, he served in the U.S. Navy from 1942 to 1945. After the War, he settled in La Jolla, California where he later became friends with Raymond Chandler. Latimer was a successful television writer and wrote fifty episodes for the Perry Mason (created by Erle Stanley Gardner) TV series. He also wrote under the pseudonym 'Peter Coffin'.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) Murder in the Madhouse  1935
 2) Headed for a Hearse (Also published as: The Westland Case [1938])  1935
 3) The Lady in the Morgue  1937
 4) The Dead Don't Care  1938
 5) Red Gardenias (Also published as: Some Dames Are Deadly [1955])  1939
 6) Dark Memory  1940
 7) The Fifth Grave (UK Title: Solomon's Vineyard [1941])  1950
 8) Sinners and Shrouds  1955
 9) Black is the Fashion for Dying (UK Title: The Mink-Lined Coffin [1960])  1959
As 'Peter Coffin'
 1) The Search for My Great Uncle's Head  1937