R.C. Woodthorpe

Ralph Carter Woodthorpe was born in Glasgow, Scotland. He was an author, teacher, and journalist. He is the creator of:
1. 'Matilda Perks', a retired schoolmistress and amateur sleuth.
2. 'Nicholas Slade', an author, scholar, and amateur sleuth.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Matilda Perks' Novels
 1) Death in a Little Town  1935
 2) The Shadow on the Downs  1935
 'Nicholas Slade' Novels
 1) Silence of a Purple Shirt (US Title: Death Wears a Purple Shirt [1934])  1934
 2) The Necessary Corpse  1939
 Other Novels
 1) The Public School Murder  1932
 2) A Dagger in Fleet Street  1934
 3) Rope for a Convict  1939
 4) Put Out That Light  1941