Vicars Bell

Vicars Walker Bell was born in Redhill, Surrey. He was an author, schoolteacher and later headmaster at Little Gaddesden Church of England School in Hertfordshire from 1929 to 1963. He also wrote children’s books and non-fiction. He is the creator of 'Douglas Baynes', an entomologist and amateur sleuth.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) Death Under the Stars  1949
 2) Death Has Two Doors  1950
 3) Two by Day and One by Night  1950
 4) Death Darkens Council  1952
 5) Death and the Night Watches  1955
 6) Death Walks by the River  1959