Brian Cleeve

Brian Brendan Talbot Cleeve was born in Southend-on-Sea, Essex. He ran away from school when he was sixteen and served on the RMS Queen Mary for several months. At seventeen he became a soldier. He served in Kenya as a Second Lieutenant in the King's African Rifles. In the last year of the Second World War he worked for British Intelligence. In his thirties he moved to Ireland where he lived for the rest of his life. He is the creator of 'Sean Ryan', a British Secret Service agent.


Titles and year of publication:  

'Sean Ryan' Novels
 1) Vote X for Treason (Also published as: Counterspy [1966])  1964
 2) Dark Blood, Dark Terror  1965
 3) The Judas Goat (US Title: Vice Isn't Private [1966])  1966
 4) Violent Death of a Bitter Englishman  1967
Other Novels
 1) Birth of a Dark Soul (US Title: The Night Winds [1954])  1953
 2) Assignment to Vengeance  1961
 3) Death of a Painted Lady  1962
 4) Death of a Wicked Servant  1963
 5) You Must Never Go Back  1968
 6) Exit from Prague (US Title: Escape from Prague [1973])  1970
 7) Tread Softly in This Place  1972