Minette Walters

Minette Walters was born in Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire. She was educated at Godolphin School in Salisbury. In 1968 she went to Durham University where she read French and German. After University she went to London. After several jobs she started to work for IPC magazines where she became eventually an editor. She started writing fiction to alleviate her financial problems. In 1980 she decided to write a crime novel. In 1992 her first crime novel appeared which won the John Creasey award for the best first crime novel. Her next two novels also won awards. Visit also her official site.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) The Ice House (John Creasey Memorial Award)  1992
 2) The Sculptress (Edgar Award, Macavity Award)  1993
 3) The Scold's Bridle (Gold Dagger Award)  1994
 4) The Dark Room  1995
 5) The Echo  1997
 6) The Breaker  1998
 7) The Tinder Box (novella)  1999
 8) The Shape of Snakes  2000
 9) Acid Row  2001
10) Fox Evil  2002
11) Disordered Minds  2003
12) The Devil's Feather  2005
13) Chickenfeed (novella)  2006
14) The Chameleon's Shadow  2007
15) Innocent Victims (contains the novellas "The Tinder Box" and "Chickenfeed")  2012
16) A Dreadful Murder: The Mysterious Death of Caroline Luard (novella)  2013
17) The Cellar  2015