Michael Gilbert

Michael Francis Gilbert was born in Billinghay, Lincolnshire. After leaving school he decided to read law but due to lack of funds he had to teach at a preparatory school in Salisbury, while studying at London University. In 1938 he joined a firm of solicitors. To bring in some extra money, he had the idea to write a detective story. He was however called up at the outbreak of World War II. In 1943 he was captured by the Germans in North Africa. He managed to escape but was recaptured and sent to a P.O.W. camp in Italy. In 1943 he was released and rejoined his regiment. Soon after the war he qualified as a solicitor. In 1947 he joined the firm of Trower, Still and Keeling and shortly afterwards married one of the firm's secretaries, Roberta Mary Marsden. That year also saw the publication of his first crime novel. In 1952 he became a partner in the firm. In 1960 he became legal adviser to the Goverment of Bahrain. In 1983 he retired from the law. He is the creator of:
1. 'Daniel John Calder and Samuel Behrens', counter-intelligence agents.
2. 'Inspector Hazlerigg', a Scotland Yard detective.
3. 'Luke Pagan and Joe Narrabone', counter-intelligence agents.
4. 'Patrick Petrella', a police officer with the London Metropolitan Police.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Daniel John Calder and Samuel Behrens' Novels
 1) Game Without Rules (short stories)  1968
 2) Mr. Calder and Mr. Behrens (short stories)  1982
 'Inspector Hazlerigg' Novels
 1) Close Quarters  1947
 2) They Never Looked Inside (He Didn't Mind Danger [1949])  1948
 3) The Doors Open  1949
 4) Smallbone Deceased  1950
 5) Death Has Deep Roots  1951
 6) Fear to Tread  1953
 'Luke Pagan and Joe Narrabone' Novels
 1) Ring of Terror  1995
 2) Into Battle  1997
 3) Over and Out  1998
 'Patrick Petrella' Novels
 1) Blood and Judgement  1959
 2) Amateur in Violence (short stories; also features Inspector Hazlerigg)  1973
 3) Petrella at Q (short stories)  1977
 4) Young Petrella (short stories; also features Inspector Hazlerigg)  1988
 5) Roller-Coaster  1993
 6) The Man Who Hated Banks and Other Mysteries (short stories; also features Inspector Hazlerigg)  1997
 Other Novels
 1) Death in Captivity (US Title: The Danger Within [1952])  1952
 2) Sky High (US Title: The Country-House Burglar [1955])  1955
 3) Be Shot for Sixpence  1956
 4) After the Fine Weather  1963
 5) The Crack in the Teacup  1966
 6) The Dust and the Heat (US Title: Overdrive [1968])  1967
 7) The Etruscan Net (US Title: The Family Tomb [1970])  1969
 8) Stay of Execution (short stories)  1971
 9) The Body of a Girl  1972
10) The Ninety-Second Tiger  1973
11) Flash-Point  1974
12) The Night of the Twelfth  1976
13) The Empty House  1978
14) Death of a Favourite Girl (US Title: The Killing of Katie Steelstock [1980])  1980
15) The Final Throw (US Title: End-Game [1982])  1982
16) The Black Seraphim  1983
17) The Long Journey Home  1985
18) Trouble  1987
19) Paint, Gold and Blood  1989
20) Anything for a Quiet Life (short stories)  1990
21) The Queen Against Karl Mullen  1991
22) The Mathematics of Murder (short stories)  2000
23) The Curious Conspiracy and Other Crimes (short stories)  2002
24) The Man Who Could Not Sleep and Other Mysteries (radio plays)  2011