Clayton Rawson
Pseudonym: Stuart Towne

Clayton Rawson was born in Elyria, Ohio. He graduated from Ohio State University in 1929. In that same year he married Catherine Stone. They lived in Chicago where Rawson worked as an illustrator. He is the creator of 'The Great Merlini', a stage magician and amateur sleuth. He also wrote under the pseudonym 'Stuart Towne'.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) Death from a Top Hat  1938
 2) The Footprints on the Ceiling  1939
 3) The Headless Lady  1940
 4) No Coffin for the Corpse  1942
 5) The Great Merlini (short stories)  1979
As 'Stuart Towne'
 1) Death Out of Thin Air  1941
 2) Death from Nowhere  1943