Carroll John Daly

Carroll John Daly was born in Yonkers, New York. He was a novelist, short story writer, and theater manager. In the 1940s he moved to California to work on comics and film scripts. He also wrote a western novel, Two-Gun Gerta, with C.C. Waddell. He is the creator of:
1. 'Vee Brown', a private investigator in New York City.
2. 'Satan Hall', a police detective in New York City.
3. 'Race Williams', a private investigator in New York City.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Vee Brown' Novels
 1) Murder Won't Wait  1933
 2) Emperor of Evil  1936
 'Satan Hall' Novels
 1) Mystery of the Smoking Gun (UK Title: Death's Juggler [1935])  1936
 2) Ready to Burn  1951
 3) The Adventures of Satan Hall (short stories)  1988
 'Race Williams' Novels
 1) The Snarl of the Beast  1927
 2) The Hidden Hand  1929
 3) The Tag Murders  1930
 4) Tainted Power  1931
 5) The Third Murderer  1931
 6) The Amateur Murderer  1933
 7) Murder from the East  1935
 8) Better Corpses  1940
 9) The Adventures of Race Williams (short stories)  1987
 Other Novels
 1) The White Circle  1926
 2) The Man in the Shadows  1928
 3) Mr. Strang  1936
 4) The Legion of the Living Dead  1947
 5) Murder at Our House  1950