Edward D. Hoch
Pseudonym: Ellery Queen (house name)

Edward Dentinger Hoch was born in Rochester, New York. After graduating from the University of Rochester, he worked as a researcher for the Rochester Public Library. He has written many stories and novels in the mystery and science fiction genre. He also wrote stories under the pseudonyms 'Anthony Circus', and 'Stephen Dentinger'. In 2000 he received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Prive Eye Writers of America. In 2001 he was made a Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America, and he received a Lifetime Achievement Award from Bouchercon.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) The Shattered Raven  1969
 2) City of Brass, and other Simon Ark stories (short stories)  1971
 3) The Judges of Hades, and other Simon Ark stories (short stories)  1971
 4) The Spy and the Thief (short stories)  1971
 5) The Transvection Machine  1971
 6) The Fellowship of the Hand  1971
 7) The Frankenstein Factory  1975
 8) The Thefts of Nick Velvet (short stories)  1978
 9) Baffling Detective Cases (short stories)  1978
10) Mysteries for Crime Busters (short stories)  1978
11) The Quests of Simon Ark (short stories)  1984
12) Leopold's Way (short stories)  1985
13) The Spy Who Read Latin and other stories (short stories)  1990
14) Diagnosis: Impossible: The Problems of Dr. Sam Hawthorne (short stories)  1996
15) The Ripper of Storyville (with Marvin Lachman) (short stories)  1996
16) Snow White and the Eleven Dwarfs (with Ed Gorman)  2000
17) The Velvet Touch (short stories)  2000
18) The Old Spies Club: And Other Intrigues of Rand (short stories)  2001
19) The Night People: And Other Stories (short stories)  2001
20) The Iron Angel: And Other Tales of the Gypsy Sleuth (short stories)  2003
21) More Things Impossible (short stories)  2005
 As 'Ellery Queen' (house name)
 1) The Blue Movie Murders  1972