Baroness Orczy

Baroness Emma Orczy was born in Tarnaƶrs, Heves County, Hungary, Austrian Empire. She moved to England with her family when she was 14 years old. She attended West London School of Art and then the Heaterley School of Fine Art. It was at art school that she met a young illustrator named Henry George Montagu MacLean Barstow whom she married in 1894. After the birth of their son in 1899, she started writing. She wrote in several genres. She is the creator of:
1. 'Henry Ratichon', an agent and confidant of kings and emperors during the Napoleonic era.
2. 'Lady Molly de Mazareen', an amateur sleuth.
3. 'Monsieur Fernand', a Napoleonic-era secret agent.
4. 'Old Man in the Corner', a nameless armchair detective.
5. 'Patrick Mulligan', an Irish lawyer.
6. 'Scarlet Pimpernel (Sir Percy Blakeney)', a chivalrous Englishman who rescues aristocrats before they are sent to the guillotine.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Henry Ratichon' Novels
 1) Castles in the Air (short stories)  1921
 'Lady Molly de Mazareen' Novels
 1) Lady Molly of Scotland Yard (short stories)  1910
 'Monsieur Fernand' Novels
 1) The Man in Grey (short stories)  1918
 'Old Man in the Corner' Novels
 1) The Case of Miss Elliott (short stories)  1905
 2) The Old Man in the Corner (US Title: The Man in the Corner) (short stories)  1909
 3) Unraveled Knots (short stories)  1925
 'Patrick Mulligan' Novels
 1) Skin o' My Tooth (short stories)  1928
 'Scarlet Pimpernel (Sir Percy Blakeney)' Novels
 1) The Scarlet Pimpernel  1905
 2) I Will Repay  1906
 3) The Elusive Pimpernel  1908
 4) Eldorado  1913
 5) The Laughing Cavalier  1913
 6) Lord Tony's Wife  1917
 7) The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel (short stories)  1919
 8) The First Sir Percy  1920
 9) The Triumph of the Scarlet Pimpernel  1922
10) Pimpernel and Rosemary  1924
11) Sir Percy Hits Back  1927
12) Adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel (shorts stories)  1929
13) A Child of the Revolution  1932
14) The Way of the Scarlet Pimpernel  1933
15) Sir Percy Leads the Band  1936
16) Mam'zelle Guillotine  1940
 Other Novels
 1) The Emperor's Candlesticks  1899
 2) A True Woman (US Title: The Heart of a Woman [1911])  1911
 3) The Celestial City  1926
 4) A Spy of Napoleon  1934