Vincent Starrett

Charles Vincent Emerson Starrett was born in Toronto, Canada. In 1889 his family moved to Chicago, Illinois. He was an author, reporter, war correspondent, and bibliographer. He is the creator of:
1. 'Riley Blackwood', an amateur sleuth.
2. 'Walter Ghost', an amateur sleuth.
3. 'Jimmie/Jimmy Lavender', a private detective in Chicago, Illinois.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Riley Blackwood' Novels
 1) The Great Hotel Murder  1935
 2) Midnight and Percy Jones  1938
 'Walter Ghost' Novels
 1) Murder on "B" Deck  1929
 2) Dead Man Inside  1931
 3) The End of Mr. Garment  1932
 'Jimmie Lavender' Novels
 1) The Case Book of Jimmie Lavender (short stories)  1944
 2) The Adventures of Jimmy Lavender (short stories)  2013
 Other Novels
 1) The Unique Hamlet  1920
 2) Coffins for Two (short stories)  1924
 3) The Blue Door (short stories)  1930
 4) The Laughing Buddha (Also published as: Murder in Peking [1946])  1937
 5) The Quick and the Dead (short stories)  1965