John Jakes
Pseudonyms: Alan Payne, Rachel Ann Payne and Jay Scotland

John William Jakes was born in Chicago, Illinois. He is best known for his family sagas like North and South and the Kent Family Chronicles. Several novels of William Ard were ghostwritten by Jakes. He is the creator of 'Johnny Havoc', a private investigator. Visit also this site.


Titles and year of publication:  

 'Johnny Havoc' Novels
 1) Johnny Havoc  1960
 2) Johnny Havoc Meets Zelda (Also published as: Havoc for Sale [1990])  1962
 3) Johnny Havoc and the Doll Who Had "It" (Also published as: Holiday for Havoc [1991])  1963
 4) Making It Big (Also published as: Johnny Havoc and the Siren in Red [1991])  1968
 Other Novels
 1) Gonzaga's Woman  1953
 2) A Night for Treason  1956
 3) The Devil Has Four Faces  1958
 4) The Impostor  1959
 As 'Alan Payne'
 1) This'll Slay You  1958
 As 'Rachel Ann Payne'
 1) Ghost Wind  1966
 As 'Jay Scotland'
 1) The Seventh Man  1958