Howard Fast
Pseudonyms: E.V. Cunningham and Walter Ericson

Howard Melvin Fast was born in New York City. In 1943, he joined the American Communist Party. In 1950 Fast was ordered to appear before the House of Un-American Activities Committee. Fast refused to name fellow members of the American Communist Party, claiming that the 1st Amendment of the United States Constitution gave him the right to do this. Despite this he was sentenced to three months in prison. Fast was blacklisted but after forming his own publishing company, the Blue Heron Press, he continued write and publish books that reflected his left-wing views. This included Spartacus (1951), an account of the 71 B.C. slave revolt, Silas Timberman (1954), a novel about a victim of McCarthyism and The Story of Lola Gregg (1956), describing the FBI pursuit and capture of a communist trade unionist. Fast also worked as a staff writer for the Daily Worker. Fast remained loyal to the Communist Party until 1956. The two main reasons for this were the speech made by Nikita Khrushchev exposing the crimes of Joseph Stalin and the decision by the Soviet government to put down the Hungarian Uprising. Fast, like three-quarters of the membership now left the party. The following year he published The Naked God: The Writer and the Communist Party (1957). The Hollywood Blacklist was ended in 1960 when Dalton Trumbo wrote the screenplay for Fast's novel, Spartacus. Fast himself moved to Hollywood where he wrote several screenplays. However, he continued to write political novels and had considerable commercial success with The Immigrants (1977), Second Generation (1978), The Establishment (1979), The Outsider (1984) and the Immigrant's Daughter (1985). His autobiography, Being Red, was published in 1990. Howard Fast died in Old Greenwich, Connecticut, on 12th March, 2003. His brother, Julius Fast, was also a writer. He is the creator of:
1. 'John Gomaday and Larry Cohen', Police Commissioner and Assistant District Attorney in New York (under the pseudonym E.V. Cunningham).
2. 'Harvey Krim', detective for the NYPD (under the pseudonym E.V. Cunningham).
3. 'Masao Masuto', private investigator (under the pseudonym E.V. Cunningham).
He also wrote under the pseudonym 'Walter Ericson'.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) The Winston Affair  1959
 2) The Confession of Joe Cullen  1989
As 'E.V. Cunningham'
'John Gomaday and Larry Cohen' Novels
 1) Penelope  1965
 2) Margie  1966
'Harvey Krim' Novels
 1) Lydia  1964
 2) Cynthia  1968
'Masao Masuto' Novels
 1) Samantha (Also published as: The Case of the Angry Actress [1984])  1967
 2) The Case of One Penny Orange  1977
 3) The Case of the Russian Diplomat  1978
 4) The Case of the Poisoned Eclairs  1979
 5) The Case of the Sliding Pool  1981
 6) The Case of the Kidnapped Angel  1982
 7) The Case of the Murdered MacKenzie  1984
 8) Masuto Investigates  2000
Other Novels
 1) Sylvia  1960
 2) Phyllis  1962
 3) Alice  1963
 4) Shirley  1964
 5) Helen  1966
 6) Sally  1967
 7) The Assassin Who Gave Up  1969
 8) Millie  1973
 9) The Wabash Factor  1986
As 'Walter Ericson'
 1) Fallen Angel (Also published as: The Darkness Within [1953], and as: Mirage [1965])  1952