Robert Ludlum
Pseudonyms: Michael Shepherd and Jonathan Ryder

Robert Ludlum was born in New York City and raised in Short Hills, New Jersey. At the age of 14, he left home to go on to the stage. His parents fetched him back and sent him to school. In the war, he enlisted with the marines and was sent to the South Pacific. After the war, he went to study at the Wesleyan University where he met his future wife, Mary Ryducha. They were married just before he graduated in 1951. Over the next few years, they acted together on and off Broadway, and on New York television. In 1956, he gave up acting and turned to producing. He produced plays at a theatre in Fort Lee, New Jersey from 1957 to 1960, and over the next nine years was in charge of the Playhouse-on-the-Mall in Paramus, New Jersey. In spite of his success as an actor and producer, Ludlum was not content. He turned to writing. His first book was a great success, followed by many more.
He also wrote three novels under the pseudonyms 'Michael Shepherd' and 'Jonathan Ryder'. They were later reissued under his own name.


Titles and year of publication:  

 1) The Scarlatti Inheritance  1971
 2) The Osterman Weekend  1972
 3) The Matlock Paper  1973
 4) The Rhinemann Exchange  1974
 5) The Gemini Contenders  1976
 6) The Chancellor Manuscript  1977
 7) The Holcroft Covenant  1978
 8) The Matarese Circle  1979
 9) The Bourne Identity  1980
10) The Parsifal Mosaic  1982
11) The Aquitaine Progression  1984
12) The Bourne Supremacy  1986
13) The Icarus Agenda  1988
14) The Bourne Ultimatum  1990
15) The Road to Omaha  1992
16) The Scorpio Illusion  1993
17) The Apocalypse Watch  1995
18) The Matarese Countdown  1997
19) The Hades Factor (with Gayle Lynds)  2000
20) The Prometheus Deception  2001
21) The Sigma Protocol  2001
22) The Cassandra Compact (with Philip Shelby)  2001
23) The Paris Option (with Gayle Lynds)  2002
24) The Janson Directive  2002
25) The Altman Code (with Gayle Lynds)  2003
26) The Tristan Betrayal  2003
27) The Ambler Warning  2005
28) The Bancroft Strategy  2006
Novel as 'Michael Shepherd'
 1) The Road to Gandolfo  1975
Novels as 'Jonathan Ryder'
 1) Trevayne  1973
 2) The Cry of the Halidon  1974